七间老厝

/七间老厝
七间老厝 2019-04-04T09:27:49+00:00

房型

Argus公寓

房间:4人房,加1人收费100令吉(最多5人)

房间大小:120平方米,备有宽敞起居空间、休息空间、阳台及2间独立房

床:楼上1张特大床,独立房2张单人床

浴室:

  • 主人房备有浴缸、独立淋浴间及厕所
  • 卧室备有淋浴间及厕所
  • 楼上房间备有梳妆台及厕所

早餐及下午茶:4人份

电子设备:50吋LED液晶电视、国际及USB插座、充电线和蓝牙音响

Wi-Fi : 免费使用

马上预订

Stewart公寓

房间:4人房,加1人收费100令吉(最多5人)

房间大小:100平方米,备有宽敞起居空间、休息空间及独立套房

床:1张特大床,独立房2张单人床

浴室:

  • 主人房备有淋浴间、厕所及梳妆台
  • 卧室备有淋浴间、厕所及梳妆台

早餐及下午茶:4人份

装饰:全套传统娘惹新娘家具

电子设备:50吋LED液晶电视、国际及USB插座、充电线和蓝牙音响

Wi-Fi : 免费使用

马上预订

复式套房

楼上的房间备有厕所及户外淋浴间;楼下的其他房间则有共用客厅。

房间:双人房,加1人收费100令吉(最多3人)

房间大小:80平方米,备有宽敞起居空间及两层休息空间

床:1张特大床

浴室:

  • 主楼备有淋浴间、梳妆台及厕所。
  • 楼上房间备有洗手盆、厕所及户外淋浴间。

早餐及下午茶:2人份

电子设备:40吋LED液晶电视、国际及USB插座、充电线和蓝牙音响

Wi-Fi : 免费使用

马上预订

地图

建筑构造

七间老厝建于19世纪晚期,这英华老厝位于观音庙后方,是古迹建筑修复的代表作品,修复过程中将建筑破坏降至最低。

从历史上看,这些房屋大约在1893年,当乔治市的凯莉地图完成时,在李氏宗祠(Lee Kongsi)的旧址重建。这些房屋是由当时的Koe Guan公司,即槟城百万富翁及泰南州长许心美重新修复。房屋起初是Koe Guan在椰脚街(Pitt Street)外围的住处及商业的扩建。当地发展商于19世纪晚期,沿着观音亭后巷(Stewart Lane)和南华医院街(Muntri Street)建立的房屋,成为早期房屋的代表,与同时期乔治市其他地方的房屋相比,它们更高、更壮观,天花板也明显挑高。

采用英国经典装饰的房屋构造,与中国南方常见的传统城市房屋构造相似。衔接房屋底层的五脚基是七间老厝的一大特色,这独特的走道象征殖民时期顺应热带气候,提供防热和避雨的设计。

走进七间老厝,映入眼帘的是中国特色传统式建筑,迎接你的是自然通风的开放式中庭,让光线和空气进入室内,保持房屋白天光线良好,全天舒服凉爽。一般上,浴室也设有庭院,以存放雨水供使用。房屋的庭院数量取决于它的长度,南华医院街有长200英尺的房屋,最多会有三个庭院。这些庭院有大量的花岗岩板,为整个空间增添个性和暖意。花岗岩板是停放在槟城港口的交易船只卸下石头时所遗留下来并被循环使用的。

七间老厝的房屋长度相对较短,但仍充分被使用。每间长约100英尺,有个露天庭院,室内空间宽敞。如今,房屋的一楼巧妙变成宽敞的套房,每间房屋附有两间套房。底层则是公共空间,设有接待处、泳池、休息室及娘惹餐厅,五脏俱全。

室内装潢

七间老厝的室内装饰可追溯到土生华人时期的浪漫与辉煌。王礼强是出生于槟城的第五代峇峇,在房屋的修复和策划上,反映出他对土生华人文化的致敬,以及致力守护峇峇娘惹的文化遗产。

面向观音亭后巷的金色雕刻前门迎接宾客的到来,令人惊叹的细节和朴实的原貌让您一探土生华人家庭从前富裕的生活。在修复的工程中,从水泥砖到木地板,王礼强皆采用了简洁、利落的线条来打造整个楼层空间。

室内装饰运用铸铁花边和木质屏门,搭配古董家具和配件,在简单的空间里,形成强烈的对比,让您仿佛回到过去,沉浸于文化与紧密的家庭关系中。每间套房皆備有用黑木和珍珠母镶嵌的家具,以及镀金的橱柜和桌子。酒店空间也展示王礼强的个人收藏,包括瓷器等无价古董。其中的房型,Stewart公寓的套房则备有传统娘惹婚床和橱柜。

酒店套房虽面向道路,但之间的浴室把室外的吵杂声隔离了,效果良好。18间套房都宽敞通风,具有作为休息和活动空间的夹层楼面。

周边环境

七间老厝位于世界文化遗产中心核心区,与椰脚街相距20米,距离和谐街古迹区也不远,位于观音庙和圣乔治教堂之间。这是乔治市著名的和谐之街,具教堂、寺庙及清真寺于同一条街道上。

酒店临近林立着沿用英殖民地建筑的公共机构,槟城州立博物馆、圣乔治教堂和法院大楼就在酒店对面街道。沿途上,大会堂和市政厅矗立在旧关仔角,约300米外则是槟城州立法议会大楼,康华丽堡就在面海的旧关仔角旁。

两所槟城早期的教会学校,即莱特街修道院和圣芳济书院,就位于法院大楼和州立博物馆附近。

这里可以找到很多手艺人和传统手工艺品,包括距离酒店10米外的制香师傅,附近制作宋谷帽及招牌雕刻的师傅。漫步在酒店周围的小巷,如观音亭后巷(Stewart Lane)、Muda Lane、Market Street、牛干冬街(Chulia Lane)和Klang Road,都能看到依旧在古迹建筑社区里生活的社群。

艺术爱好者还能欣赏酒店周围丰富的街头艺术和壁画。

沿着酒店周围的主要道路和小巷,可轻松找到本地美食和咖啡厅。一步之遥的牛干冬街(Chulia Sreet),是本地美食兼娱乐天堂,无论在地人或游客皆流连忘返。

七间老厝相册

殊荣

马来西亚浪漫酒店25佳排行榜
七间老厝荣获第七名

马来西亚小规模酒店10佳排行榜
七间老厝荣获第三名

马来西亚酒店优质服务25佳排行榜
七间老厝荣获第七名

与古迹建筑共存共生

体验我们的古迹精品酒店

联系我们

Seven Terraces – Hotel

/Seven Terraces – Hotel
Seven Terraces – Hotel 2018-10-24T02:41:07+00:00

THE ROOMS

Argus Apartment

Room : based on 4 occupancies additional person charges at RM100 – max 5 occupancies (per room)

Room Size : 120sq m of spacious lounge, sleeping area, balcony and 2 separate bedrooms

Bed : 1 king-size bed upstairs 2 single beds in a separate room

Bathroom :

  • Long bath, separate shower & toilet in main room
  • Shower & toilet in the chamber
  • Vanity & toilet upstairs in the bedroom

Breakfast and afternoon tea : 4 pax

Tech gadgets : 50-inch LED TV, international & USB port, charging cable and Bluetooth speaker

Wi-Fi : Complimentary

BOOK NOW

Stewart Apartment

Room : based on 4 occupancies additional person charges at RM100 – max 5 occupancies (per room)

Room Size : 100sq m include spacious lounge, sleeping area and a separate bedroom with ensuite

Bed : 1 king-size bed, 2 single beds in a separate room

Bathroom : 

  • Shower, toilet & vanity in main room
  • Shower, toilet & vanity in the chamber

Breakfast and afternoon tea : 4 pax

Decoration : A special complete set of original Peranakan bridal furniture

Tech gadgets : 50-inch LED TV, international & USB port, charging cable and Bluetooth speaker

Wi-Fi : Complimentary

BOOK NOW

Terraced Duplex Suites

Half the rooms with the main bedroom upstairs with extra toilet & outdoor shower. The other half of the rooms have the main bed downstairs with a sitting area upstairs.

Room : based on 2 occupancies additional person charges at RM100 – max 3 occupancies (per room)

Room Size : 80sq m include spacious lounge and sleeping area over two floors

Bed : 1 king-size bed

Bathroom : 

  • Shower, vanity & toilet on the main level
  • Wash basin, toilet & outdoor shower for rooms with main bed upstairs

Breakfast and afternoon tea : 2 pax

Tech gadgets : 40-inch LED TV, international & USB port, charging cable and Bluetooth speaker

Wi-Fi : Complimentary

BOOK NOW

Map View

THE ARCHITECTURE

Built in the late 19th century, Seven Terraces was a contiguous row of Anglo-Chinese terrace houses located just behind the Goddess of Mercy Temple. The row of houses today is a sterling splendid example of an adaptive reuse of heritage buildings that were of low density and low impact.

Historically, these houses were a redevelopment of the original Lee Kongsi building circa 1893, in a period of time when George Town’s Kelly maps were just completed. The row was redeveloped by Koe Guan, the holding company of local millionaire and governor of southern Thailand, Khaw Sim Bee. This row was the first residential and commercial expansion by Koe Guan outside of the original settlement that bordered Pitt Street. Houses built by local property developers along Stewart Lane and Muntri Street at the end of the 19th century were the earliest examples of mass housing that were taller, more imposing and with significantly higher ceilings as compared to shophouses built in other parts of George Town earlier in that century.

The architecture of these shophouses, with classical decorative details imported from England, was similar to the traditional urban house models common in southern China. The five-foot-way, a covered walkway that connects these shophouses on the ground floor, was another feature at Seven Terraces that is characteristic of most heritage shophouses in Penang. This unique walkway represents a colonial adaptation designed to suit the tropical climate, providing a length of covered space as a shield from the heat and rain.

When you walk into these terrace houses, a distinctive feature of traditional Chinese architecture that strikes your attention and welcomes you was the open courtyards and air wells in the center of the houses. These were open-air spaces that function mostly as natural ventilation for the houses, allowing light and air into the interior rooms to keep the whole house well illuminated in the day and cool the whole day through. Usually, there will also be a second courtyard for the bathroom where rainwater was stored for use in the bathroom. The number of courtyards for each of these houses was relative to the length of the property. There were 200ft longhouses along Muntri Street that have as many as three open-air courtyards. These courtyards were paved with massive granite slabs that add character and warmth to the overall space. These granite slabs were recycled from the ballast carried by trading junks that unloaded the stones at the Penang port, at the end of their return journey.

At Seven Terraces, the shophouses were relatively shorter but still highly functional, with each measuring about 100ft in length and comprising an open-air courtyard, wherein the room proportions project a sense of wide living space. Today, the terrace houses have been cleverly transformed into spacious suites on the first floor, with two suites in each shophouse. The ground floor now becomes a public area where the reception, swimming pool, lounge and Kebaya Restaurant were all conveniently located.

THE INTERIOR

Complementing the Anglo-Chinese exterior, the interior was one that harks back to the romance and splendor of the Peranakan Chinese era. Chris Ong was a fifth-generation Penang-born baba and the recreation as well as the curation of a grand Peranakan mansion symbolizes Ong’s way of paying homage to the grandeur of, and more importantly, contributing his part to conservating the legacy of the Peranakan Chinese culture.

Carved gilded decoration front doors facing Stewart Lane welcome guests to the interior, its amazing details and pristine condition offer glimpses to the days of opulence in a Peranakan Chinese household. Ong’s signature of clean, simple lines was apparent in the extensive restoration works done in these houses from the encaustic cement tiles to the salvaged wooden floor boards that make up the entire floor space upstairs.

Cast iron lace work and rows of slatted wooden screens which adorn the interior serve to introduce ornate details to the simple background while the antique furnishings and fittings placed in choice spots throughout the hotel stand out in stark relief, bringing guests back to a bygone era that is steep in culture and strong family bonds. Each room boasts of blackwood and mother-of-pearl inlaid furniture and gilded cabinets and tables. Ong’s personal collection of priceless antiques such as porcelain ware is also proudly displayed around the hotel. In one of the suites, The Steward (Stewart?) Apartment, guests will be delighted with the original Peranakan Chinese wedding bed and accompanying cabinets.

The suites facing the road are strategically shielded from street noise with full width bathrooms acting as a buffer. Most of the 18 suites in the hotel, all of which are spacious and airy, have mezzanine floors as the resting or living spaces.

THE PRECINCT

Seven Terraces was located in the heart and core of the World Heritage Site which was a 20m away from Pitt Street. It was a short walk away from the ‘street of harmony’ heritage trail, in between the Goddess of Mercy Temple or Kuan Yin Temple and the St George’s Church, where one will find a church, temples, and mosques all within the same street.

It is also within a walking distance to stately British colonial mansions that used as public buildings with the Penang state museum right next to the St George’s Church and the Courthouse just across from it. Down the road, the stately City Hall and Town Hall stand proud and tall facing the Esplanade while about 300m from these grand old buildings was the Penang Legislative Assembly building. This was also just across the Fort Cornwallis, a historical monument next to the Esplanade facing the sea.

Two of the early missionary schools, Convent Light Street and St Xavier’s Institution, were also located in the vicinity of the Courthouse and the state museum.

Traditional crafts and tradesmen were plenty in this precinct with a joss stick maker just 10m away from the hotel while a songkok maker and also a signboard carver were all located nearby. Walking down the maze of narrow lanes surrounding the hotel such as Stewart Lane, Muda Lane, Market Street, Chulia Lane and Klang Road will provide glimpses into the local community that still lives in the heritage houses lining these streets.

Art enthusiasts will appreciate the abundance of street art and murals on the sides of the buildings and along the length of stretches of walls near the hotel.

Food, local hawker fare, and cafes were easily accessible along the main roads and narrow lanes all around the hotel. Just a stone’s throw away was Chulia Street, a haven of local hawker fare, eateries and watering holes for locals and tourists.

SEVEN TERRACES’S GALLERY

AWARD & RECOGNITION

Top 10 Small Hotels in Malaysia
Seven Terraces – 1st Place

Top 25 Hotels for Service Malaysia
Seven Terraces – 3rd Place

Live and breathe heritage

Experience your heritage stay with us

GET IN TOUCH